SanmaSanma is a province located in the Northern part of Vanuatu, occupying the nation’s largest island, Espiritu Santo, which is located approximately 2,500km northeast of Sydney, Australia. The name Sanma is derived from the initial letters of the main islands of (Espiritu) Santo and Malo. It has a population of 32,340 and an area of 4,248 km².

The provincial capital is Luganville. Other centres of population include Champagne Beach, Hogharbour, Port Olry and Aseviah.

Sanma provincial council is responsible for running the daily affairs of the province. The council is elected every four years, the party which has the vast majority of seats sets up the provincial government. The head of the provincial government is the President of Sanma province. Its headquarters are located in the town centre of Luganville.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s